HJF Holds 8th Annual Heroes of Military Medicine Awards

Colleen Franklin
United States

The Henry M. Jackson Foundation for the Advancement of Military Medicine, Inc. (HJF) held its 8th annual Heroes of Military Medicine Awards on May 3.

Each year, HJF recognizes individuals who have made outstanding contributions in advancing medicine for our nation’s wounded, ill and injured service members, veterans and civilians.

This year’s Hero of Military Medicine Ambassador Award was presented to the Air Force’s 99th Medical Group for its heroic response to the October 2017 Las Vegas mass casualty shooting. HJF created this video to honor their response efforts.

The Hero of Military Medicine Senior Leader Award was presented to COL Brad Wenstrup, DPM, USAR (U.S. Representative).

The Air Force Hero of Military Medicine Award was presented to Colonel William E. Nelson, USAF, MC, CFS.

The Army Hero of Military Medicine Award was presented to Major Andrew D. Fisher, PA-C, SP, ARNG.

The Navy Hero of Military Medicine Award was presented to HM3 (FMF) Schuyler B. Nesbitt, USN.

During the ceremony, guests were also shown this video detailing The Veterans Metrics Initiative, a public-private collaboration that unites multi-disciplinary research experts from the Departments of Defense and Veterans Affairs, academic medicine and social science, and industry to develop an evidence-based understanding of what improves the long-term well-being of transitioning veterans.