HJF Announces 2023 Fellowship Winners

United States

Each year, the Henry M. Jackson Foundation for the Advancement of Military Medicine (HJF) awards one year's salary and travel support to an outstanding graduate student attending the Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences (USU) School of Medicine who is nearing completion of their doctoral dissertation work. The Fellowship program, awarded annually since 1988, has supported approximately 60 University students from HJF since the program's inception.


HJF selected the following doctoral students to receive the 2023 Fellowship Award:

Nancy Sealover, a fifth-year Molecular and Cell Biology Ph.D. student at USU, has been named the 2023 Henry M. Jackson Fellowship Award recipient.

Under the mentorship of Dr. Robert Kortum in the Department of Pharmacology & Molecular Pharmacology, Ms. Sealover is investigating novel and combinatorial therapeutic approaches in RAS-mutated lung adenocarcinoma and pediatric cancers. In collaboration with investigators at the National Cancer Institute and Boehringer Ingelheim, she has contributed to nine publications and presented her work at numerous local and national meetings. She has also been recognized for her exceptional service to the USU community and beyond, including substantial leadership positions.

Rohini Manickam and Arielle Pearlman have each received a fellowship honorable mention.

Rohini Manickam works in Dr. Jeremy Rotty's laboratory in the Department of Biochemistry, where she studies how the Phactr4 protein interacts with the Arp2/3 complex to coordinate proteomic changes associated with cell migration.

Arielle Pearlman works in Dr. Natasha Schvey's group in the Department of Medical and Clinical Psychology. She studies the longitudinal impact of weight-based discrimination on eating pathology among youth from diverse racial and ethnic backgrounds, emphasizing Latine families.

HJF is proud to support the impressive work of USU students performing exciting research and fulfilling the HJF mission of advancing military medicine.

Photo: from the left: Joseph Caravalho, Nancy Sealover, Arielle Pearlman, Saibal Dey, Andrea Stahl, and Andrew Snow(not pictured:Rohini Manickam).